EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER DECISIONS MEETING FOR EDUCATION & CHILDREN

6TH JULY 2017

PRESENT: Councillor: G. Davies (Executive Board Member).

The following officers were in attendance:

T. Neumayer-James, Principal School Governance Officer

J. Owen, Democratic Services Officer

1. DECLARATIONS OF PERSONAL INTEREST

There were no declarations of personal interest.

2. APPOINTMENT OF L.A. GOVERNORS

The Executive Board Member considered applications received for L.A. Governor vacancies within the county. It was noted that nominations had been invited from the Chairperson, Head teacher and Local Member(s) in the case of Primary Schools. It was also noted that L.A. Governors were appointed for 4 years and where the vacancy occurred as a result of an individual's term of office coming to an end this was noted in the details for that particular person if he/she was seeking appointment.

The Principal School Governance Officer explained that, following the recent County Council elections, all newly elected County Councillors had been invited to nominate the Governing Bodies on which they wished to represent the Local Authority. It is county policy that all county councillors when elected may stipulate on which school governing bodies they will sit and their decision will take preference over 'non-elected' LA governors. Consequently, county councillors may nominate to serve as LA Governors on a school that does not currently have a vacant post. In the event of this category of governorship becoming oversubscribed, then governance regulations state that the shortest serving LA Governor must then stand down.

RESOLVED that, in order to meet statutory obligations of filling vacancies on Governing Bodies and having considered the application received, the following appointments be made to vacancies for LA Governors:-

Primary School	Appointments
Abergwili (2 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	Mrs G. JamesMrs D. Powell
Betws (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Betsan Jones (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)



Primary School	Appointments
Bigyn (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Andre S.J. McPherson (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Bro Brynach (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Dorian Phillips (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Bryn Teg (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Fozia Akhtar (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Burry Port (4 Vacancies – 3 Nominations)	 Councillor Amanda Fox (appointment from 4th Sept 2017) Councillor John James (appointment from 4th Sept 2017) Mrs B. S. Lewis (appointment from 1st Sept 2017)
Cwrt Henri (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Mansel Charles (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Dafen (0 Vacancies – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Rob Evans (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Gwenllian (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Jeanette Gilasbey (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Hendy (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mr S Evans (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Johnstown (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Gareth H. John (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Llanddarog (0 Vacancies – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Ann Davies (appointment from 4th Sept 2017)
Llandeilo (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Edward G. Thomas (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Llandybie (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Dai Nicholas (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Llangennech (3 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	 Councillor Gary Jones (appointment from 13th Nov 2017) Councillor Gwyneth Thomas (appointment from 13th Nov 2017)
Llannon (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mr G. Williams





Primary School	Appointments
Llansteffan (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mrs M. Evans (appointment from 16 th Oct 2017)
Maes y Morfa (2 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	 Councillor John Prosser (appointment from 4th Sept 2017) Mrs L. Stedman
	(appointment from 4th Sept 2017)
Nantgaredig (0 Vacancies – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Ann Davies (appointment from 4th Sept 2017)
Old Road (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Rob James (appointment from 4th Sept 2017)
Parcyrhun (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Alun Davies
Pembrey (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor J. H. Jones, (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Peniel (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Dorian Williams (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Pen Rhos (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor John Prosser (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Penygaer (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Shahana Najmi (appointment from 4th Sept 2017)
Penygroes (2 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	 Councillor Dai Thomas (appointment from 4th Sept 2017) Mrs N Griffiths
Pontyberem (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Liam Bowen (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Rhys Prichard (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Handel Davies (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Trimsaran (0 Vacancies – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Kim Broom (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
Y Dderwen (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Mr G. Wynne
Y Felin (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Bill Thomas (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)





Secondary School	Appointments
Bro Dinefwr (5 Vacancies – 3 Nominations)	 Councillor Andrew James (appointment from 1st Sept 2017) Councillor Edward G. Thomas (appointment from 1st Sept 2017) Mr J D Dyer (appointment from 1st Sept 2017)
Bryngwyn / Glanymôr Federation (0 Vacancies – 4 Nominations)	 Councillor Fozia Akhtar (appointment from 4th Sept 2017) Councillor Bill Thomas (appointment from 4th Sept 2017) Councillor Rob Evans (appointment from 4th Sept 2017)
Maes y Gwendraeth (5 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	 Councillor Liam Bowen (appointment from 1st Sept 2017) Councillor Aled Vaughan Owen (appointment from 1st Sept 2017)
Strade (1 Vacancy – 1 Nomination)	Councillor Kim Broom (appointment from 4 th Sept 2017)
QE High (2 Vacancies – 2 Nominations)	 Mr D. Williams Mrs D. Powell Ford (appointment from 1st Sept 2017)

3. TO SIGN AS A CORRECT RECORD THE DECISION RECORD OF THE MEETING HELD ON THE 15TH JUNE 2017

RESOLVED that the decision record of the meeting held on the 15th June 2017 be signed as a correct record.

EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBER	DATE

